Request Your Free Consultation
Get Started Right Away! Schedule your first consultation with the firm now.
  • Please enter your name.
  • This isn't a valid email address.
    Please enter your email address.
  • This isn't a valid phone number.
    Please enter your phone number.
    You entered an invalid number.
  • Please select an option.
  • Please enter a message.
    • The submission of this website form does not constitute an attorney-client relationship. Unless a formal relationship has been established in writing, the information presented throughout this site, and any response to this web inquiry, either verbal or in writing, should be considered for informational purposes only, and any information provided to the firm should not be viewed as privileged or confidential.

5 Texas Motorcycle Accident Laws You Should Know

5 Texas Motorcycle Accident Laws You Should Know

Like every state, Texas has laws regulating motorcycle use on public roadways. Motorcyclists are required to follow traffic laws in order to protect their own safety and the safety of others. In addition to the rules of the road that everyone else follows, motorcyclists must also abide by a specific set of additional motorcycle laws. Failure to do so can have serious consequences, including accidents leading to serious personal injury.

Five Texas Motorcycle Laws

  1. Certain riders are required to wear a helmet. All motorcyclists under the age of 21 are required to wear a helmet while operating a motorcycle in Texas. Motorcyclists over the age of 21 are still required to wear a helmet unless they meet one of the following exceptions: 1) they have completed a state-approved motorcycle safety course, or 2) they can establish that they have an insurance plan that would cover their healthcare costs if they are ever involved in an accident.
  2. Lane splitting is illegal. Lane splitting, or the practice of driving in between lanes of traffic, is prohibited in Texas. If a lane splitting motorcyclist is ever in an accident, they may have a very difficult time recovering damages because they were in violation of the law.
  3. Motorcyclists need a special license. Motorcyclists are required to carry a Class M license to operate a motorcycle on public roads. Part of obtaining this license is taking a safety course approved by the Texas Department of Public Safety.
  4. Motorcyclists cannot transport passengers under the age of five. It is illegal to transport passengers under the age of five years old on a motorcycle. However, they are permitted to ride in a sidecar.
  5. Motorcyclists are required to carry liability insurance. All motorcyclists in Texas are required to carry liability insurance that will pay for at least $30,000 per person injured in an accident and $60,000 for multiple people injured in an accident, along with $25,000 to cover property damage.

Not only will knowledge of these laws help you avoid an expensive traffic citation, it can also keep you safe. If you or someone you know has been injured in a motorcycle accident and has questions about personal injury claims, contact The Daspit Law Firm. Our Beaumont motorcycle accident lawyers are prepared to review your case and help you pursue the compensation that you are entitled to.

Contact us to get started. You pay nothing unless we win your case!

Categories: